Apple Pectin
Pectin is from apple peel and has natural color variation from off-white to golden. Classified as E440, - clean label, and is very versatile, flexible to formulation variations like jams, marmalades, fruit and confectionery jellies, yogurt and dairy drinks, whipped cream, milk gels and desserts, and salad dressings. This product is Kosher and Halal certified, and GMO free.
Main Features
- Pectin is one of the core and own produced ingredients in the portfolio: A water-soluble hydrocolloid with gelling and thickening functionalities. Pectin is a popularly used plant-based gelling agent. With coagulating properties highly similar to those of gelatin, pectin is the ideal choice of a gelling agent for vegan and animal-free labels. We take the time to understand your specific needs in order to provide solutions, not just products.
Applications
- Today, commercial pectin is used in diverse applications such as jams, jellies, yogurt, acid dairy drinks, bakery fillings and confectionery. As a nature-derived product, pectin is in high demand: in the food & beverage industry, where new applications are constantly being discovered, and increasingly in pharmaceutical and cosmetics applications.
Manufacturing Process
- Apple pomace or citrus peel---Hydrolysis of protopectin with acid in hot conditions--Separation--Filtration--Concentration--Precipitation in alcohol--Washing--Drying/milling--Batch control
Q&A
- 1, What are the different types of pectin?
The two main types of pectin are High Methoxyl (HM) and Low Methoxyl (LM).
HM pectin requires sugar and acid to gel, while LM pectin can gel with the presence of calcium ions, making it suitable for low-sugar or sugar-free products.
2,What are the sources of commercial pectin?
The primary sources of commercial pectin are citrus fruits (orange, lemon, lime) and apples
Product Application
Meat & savoury
Confectionery
Jams & sauce
Pet Food
Dairy
Beverage
Pharma & Nutrition